Hoff Earns Leadership Through Inclusion Alumni Award

October 26, 2018

Kyran Hoff was presented with the 2018 Leadership Through Inclusion Alumni Award during the annual Speed School homecoming dinner held October 26 at the Brown Hotel. She earned the award for her contribution to and enhancement to the field of engineering while demonstrating an exceptional understanding of diversity and inclusiveness beyond her regular duties.

Hoff is Executive Director, Chief Engineer for GE Appliances, a Haier Company, headquartered in Louisville, KY. She leads the Office of Chief Engineer organization with responsibility for independent technical oversight across all product lines and platforms including energy regulations, technical regulations and standards, product safety, and cyber security. In this role, she also has responsibility for the Edison Engineering Development Program, Technical Career Path, and Intellectual Property.

Hoff earned a B.S. and M.S. in Mechanical Engineering from the University of Louisville Speed School of Engineering. Her career spans 22 years with GE Appliances in roles of increasing responsibility, first joining the company as a design engineer in the Dishwasher Technology organization. Her previous leadership roles include Engineering Manager – Technology Services, a global role with responsibility for the strategic planning and tactical execution of the engineering services for Lighting, Appliances, and Industrial Systems and Executive Director, Dishwasher Technology with responsibility for leading the dishwasher engineering team to build a strong pipeline of leadership products and a culture of continuous improvement. Since 2014, Kyran has also served as the Women’s Network Champion for GE Appliances.

Hoff was the recipient of the Speed School 2013 Professional Award in Mechanical Engineering. Kyran lives in Louisville with her husband Phil, a fellow Speed graduate, and enjoys running, cooking, and traveling in her free time.

This is the third year that the Leadership Through Alumni Award has been presented. Alumna Allison Seward won the inaugural award while husband and wife alumni Rudy and Rosalind Lewis were presented with the award in 2017.